Like a million dicks in a mouth made of manbutts.

Everything else.

Moderator: GreenCrayon

User avatar
Simon.
Simon.
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:58 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Like a million dicks in a mouth made of manbutts.

Post by Simon. »

So my computer recently had a bit of a fit at me. And by recently I mean a while ago, however I got around the problem for a while since then. The main problem is that it has strange phobia of turning on. I think the problem might be the power supply, but then again, it could be the graphics card. There are 3 problems when it fails to turn on. Yes, three. At first (a long time ago), it simply sat there, and the side USB ports made funny clicking noises, and nothing happened, it didn't start, no DOS running, nothing. After about 20 seconds of clicking, it would make noises like it was starting up, but it wasn't (could be the power supply?). Now this only happened most of the time, some of the time it would make noises like it was starting up (no clicking), but nothing appeared on the monitors. I know it DID start up, because I was able to log in, and shut the computer down using the keyboard, while nothing actually showed up on the monitors (could be the graphics card). So about every 1/50 times I tried to turn it on, would it actually "turn on" so that I could use it. Now add to this that yesterday, when I had been unable to turn it on for 2 days, I took it down the the shed and gave it a gentle air-compressor clean. Apparently it didn't like this, and now the power button doesn't work very well, only occasionally actually catching, and turning the computer (supposedly) on. So I think I managed to fix that (by repeated mashing), and now I'm back to just 2 problems. Although the button is probably not fixed.

So here I am by the grace of trying to turn my computer on a thousand times, and it finally working after 3 days. Fucking hell. So, as I did the first time this happened, I am simply not going to turn the fucker off until I can get some reliable answer to the problem. I think it would probably be the power supply, as the graphics card problem could be stemming from that. But it still just doesn't make an awful lot of sense. I know at least 1 of you guys is a computer man, so has anyone got any advice?
Not a big fan of signatures.

Husper
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 1:48 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Husper »

I have absolutely no clue how computers work, I just pray every day it will work, and when it doesnt I just hit it a bit and it does the trick. I get the thing where it boots up with no monitor aswell, but just turn it on and off a few times and its ok.

Sorry if you thought this reply was going to be a concstructive or helpful one!

User avatar
TwoBuy
Clinically Casbah Rockin'
Posts: 2172
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Pimpin' (It's a location if you're doing it right)
Contact:

Post by TwoBuy »

Definitely sounds like power problems. Either providing an inconsistent or incorrect voltage, or just not supplying enough wattage. I'd try changing out the power supply with a friend's just to test it and then go buy one if it works. If it doesn't I would put my money on the motherboard having power problems.

Also, what are the chances you have a screw or something underneath the motherboard causing a short?
Stories from 19-yo mistresses
Hey girl whats up
A drunk driver hit my blind, 12-yo sister on her way home from school. Im @ the funeral
hahaha
That wasnt a joke dick-hole
Oh
Sooooo... my gf will be out of town Wednesday. U gunna be back by then?

User avatar
Simon.
Simon.
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:58 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Simon. »

TwoBuy wrote:Definitely sounds like power problems. Either providing an inconsistent or incorrect voltage, or just not supplying enough wattage. I'd try changing out the power supply with a friend's just to test it and then go buy one if it works. If it doesn't I would put my money on the motherboard having power problems.

Also, what are the chances you have a screw or something underneath the motherboard causing a short?
Maybe! I really can't be bothered checking. Also I wouldn't really feel safe checking that with it on. I'd be all, "I should turn this off before I get in there". And I'm not turning it off. I don't think there is a screw under there though. As for a friends power supply, I did think of trying that, but I haven't been able to get a spare one from anywhere, and noone wants to give up theirs even for a test. I just won't turn it off for a long time.
Not a big fan of signatures.

User avatar
TwoBuy
Clinically Casbah Rockin'
Posts: 2172
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Pimpin' (It's a location if you're doing it right)
Contact:

Post by TwoBuy »

Simon. wrote:As for a friends power supply, I did think of trying that, but I haven't been able to get a spare one from anywhere, and noone wants to give up theirs even for a test.
Remind them that they probably don't even have to take it out, just put the computers close to each other. You also will only need to move the motherboard, cpu, and vga cables to test it. Not any of the peripheral ones so that might make them more comfortable with it (not having to replug a million things in and all).
Stories from 19-yo mistresses
Hey girl whats up
A drunk driver hit my blind, 12-yo sister on her way home from school. Im @ the funeral
hahaha
That wasnt a joke dick-hole
Oh
Sooooo... my gf will be out of town Wednesday. U gunna be back by then?

User avatar
wolf
She-Barbarian of the North
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Canadia

I have spyware

Post by wolf »

Yeah, I have spyware. Problem is I have Norton Internet System protection so I shouldn't have any.. Yet I still get new browser windows opening up and shit displaying ads. Its rather annoying, especially when I open my browser and 3 + tabs open up as well.

Any suggestions on what should do/get. And this goes to show you never ever let your friend have free rein over your computer. (I think he went to porn sites. ugggh. So I guess I should say never let your horny, single friend with no internet access have free rein)
Can you hold my hand? It's a big poop

User avatar
mountainmage
Mage of the Mountains
Posts: 9601
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Right here. Right now.

Re: I have spyware

Post by mountainmage »

wolf wrote:(I think he went to porn sites. ugggh. So I guess I should say never let your horny, single friend with no internet access have free rein)
Don't go crappy porn sites that just redirect you to other porn sites. Masturbate smarter, not harder! Wait...
No more white horses ♬ ♫ ♪ ılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılı ♪ ♫ ♬ for you to ride away

User avatar
wolf
She-Barbarian of the North
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Canadia

Re: I have spyware

Post by wolf »

mountainmage wrote:
wolf wrote:(I think he went to porn sites. ugggh. So I guess I should say never let your horny, single friend with no internet access have free rein)
Don't go crappy porn sites that just redirect you to other porn sites. Masturbate smarter, not harder! Wait...
Actually they don't direct me to porn site. They direct me to sites that are semi related to the current website I'm on. Since I don't go to porn sites I don't get sent there (he was saying something about he say 2 girls 1 cup. really glad he used my computer for that)
Can you hold my hand? It's a big poop

User avatar
mountainmage
Mage of the Mountains
Posts: 9601
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Right here. Right now.

Re: I have spyware

Post by mountainmage »

wolf wrote:Actually they don't direct me to porn site. They direct me to sites that are semi related to the current website I'm on. Since I don't go to porn sites I don't get sent there (he was saying something about he say 2 girls 1 cup. really glad he used my computer for that)
No, I don't mean the adware you have, I'm talking about the porn sites your friend went on.
No more white horses ♬ ♫ ♪ ılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılı ♪ ♫ ♬ for you to ride away

User avatar
Simon.
Simon.
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:58 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: I have spyware

Post by Simon. »

wolf wrote:Yeah, I have spyware. Problem is I have Norton Internet System protection
Problem is, you pretty much just repeated yourself there. Norton is hardly useful at what it does. Try downloading AVG - free edition (unless you want to pay for the full version?). It's only anti-virus, but it'll probably clean you up anyway. It's round about the best you can get free nowadays. Also get rid of Norton, it's probably the cause, rather than a cure.
Not a big fan of signatures.

User avatar
wolf
She-Barbarian of the North
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Canadia

Post by wolf »

i ran every free anti-spyware/adware thing I could get my hands on. everyone found a new problem but none fixed it. i finally found my windows and recovery disks so i wiped away the sin. now i have to beat my friend with a hose the next time i see him.
Can you hold my hand? It's a big poop

User avatar
Sahan
"I promise you no penis jokes."
Posts: 4360
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 6:20 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: I have spyware

Post by Sahan »

Simon. wrote:
wolf wrote:Yeah, I have spyware. Problem is I have Norton Internet System protection
Problem is, you pretty much just repeated yourself there. Norton is hardly useful at what it does. Try downloading AVG - free edition (unless you want to pay for the full version?). It's only anti-virus, but it'll probably clean you up anyway. It's round about the best you can get free nowadays. Also get rid of Norton, it's probably the cause, rather than a cure.
Yes, Norton gets overrun with viruses easily, AVG is much more secure. I also use the AVG Anti-Spyware as well. Even though you have to pay to keep the automatic updates and scanning, it can still be used effectively wothout paying provided you do manual scans and updates at least once a week.
Destructicus wrote: Alt text:
"I wonder if chemists feel bad that they're always left out of these sorts of jokes."

Since when is chemistry not a science?

User avatar
ruotwocone
sock-puppet of the infinite
Posts: 1929
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 6:58 pm
Location: true... wait, false!
Contact:

Post by ruotwocone »

wolf wrote:i ran every free anti-spyware/adware thing I could get my hands on. everyone found a new problem but none fixed it. i finally found my windows and recovery disks so i wiped away the sin. now i have to beat my friend with a hose the next time i see him.
the problem you have happens a lot. instead of wiping the computer, a good way to actually get rid of the problems is to download hyjackthis, and then scan your computer for problems. hyjackthis will create a log file that you can post to the whatthetech forums where experienced professionals (and experienced nonprofessionals as well) will (for free) look through the logs and give you advice on how to remove the specific problems you have. it's a really great place for advice on removing malware.

probably the easiest way to keep your computer from getting infected in the first place is to make the user account that you are logged into 99% of the time a user account and not an administrator. that way if malware tries to install on the machine it won't have the permissions to do it. I used to have a lot of malware/spyware problems, but when i bought my new harddrive i switched to this system and have yet to have a problem even with all of the internet porn i look at :)

User avatar
Lethal Interjection
Death by Elocution
Posts: 8051
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:17 pm
Location: Behind your ear. It's magic!
Contact:

Post by Lethal Interjection »

Well, not a malware problem, anyways.

User avatar
TwoBuy
Clinically Casbah Rockin'
Posts: 2172
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Pimpin' (It's a location if you're doing it right)
Contact:

Post by TwoBuy »

ruotwocone wrote:probably the easiest way to keep your computer from getting infected in the first place is to make the user account that you are logged into 99% of the time a user account and not an administrator.
I work in the security group at Microsoft and can tell you without fail that this is the best advice anyone will ever get about computers ever. You will get zero viruses, zero malwares, zero bad stuff. You computer will run stable for 6+ years without the need for an OS reinstall rather than the 2-3 years a machine gets when you log in as an administrator every day. Anyone on this forum not taking this advice is dumber than a butt.
Stories from 19-yo mistresses
Hey girl whats up
A drunk driver hit my blind, 12-yo sister on her way home from school. Im @ the funeral
hahaha
That wasnt a joke dick-hole
Oh
Sooooo... my gf will be out of town Wednesday. U gunna be back by then?

Post Reply